Broccoli Greens & Paying It Forward

Thanksgiving week already?!  I have to admit, I’m going to have a rather quiet holiday this year.  One of my cats, Mistoffelees, took ill last week, and in order to give him his meds and check his bladder to make sure it’s not blocked (he has a urinary tract infection and could die from it if I don’t watch him carefully) I canceled my plans to drive to Richmond and spend the holiday with family.  The poet is also out-of-town, visiting his sister and godparents in Amherst (what a picture-perfect town for Thanksgiving!), and most of my friends are MIA, so I’m going to spend a quiet week in my apartment pretending to write papers and eating only the food in my fridge and pantry.  I’m thankful for this time to work, though.  I need it.  Why I convinced myself that writing a thesis was a good plan…someone should have stopped me!  **If anyone has any good movie suggestions, please let me know!**  I’m going to rent some from the university library to watch at night!

Broccoli Greens (Photo courtesy of Veggie Gardening Tips)

On Sunday I cooked a mini-Thanksgiving meal for my mom and the poet.  At the local farmers market last week, I picked up a bag of broccoli greens for $3.  The farmer convinced me that they were sweeter than collards, but that you cook them the same way.  After deribing the leaves and ripping them into bite sized pieces, I sauteed them with olive oil and garlic for a few minutes, then added water to the pan, covered it with a lid, and let them simmer for 30 minutes until tender.  They were amazing!  Frankly, they tasted just like broccoli.  Only leafy.  I didn’t have my camera with me, so no pictures, but I’m hoping to get some in my Vegetable Husband box soon (fingers crossed)!  Thanks for recommending it Leigh, I can’t wait to get my first box!

Shelly, over at Musings from the Fishbowl, introduced this great exchange idea called Pay It Forward.  I’m stoked to participate, but you get to as well!  I will send 3 of you who comment a handmade gift (it’s true, I can be crafty, who knew!) within the next 365 days.  Don’t worry about where you live because I’m willing to ship internationally.  On Monday, Dec. 1, I will pick three people using a random number generator so that it’s fair.

The catch is that you have to be willing to do it too!  If I pick you, then you have to commit to sending three people a handmade gift in the next 365 days.  You know, pay it forward!  Be sure to specify in your comment that you want to participate–I don’t want to rope you into a commitment you can’t keep!

I hope you all have a lovely Thanksgiving and safe travels if you’re on the road or flying somewhere!

Comments
15 Responses to “Broccoli Greens & Paying It Forward”
  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Gorgeous Broccoli Greens!!

  2. Leigh says:

    I’m glad you are taking advantage of Vegetable Husband! We are looking forward to our third basket today.

  3. Amanda says:

    Nice! We have something like Vegetable Husband here in Boston but this time of year (brrr) not much is local unfortunately!

  4. lazysmurf says:

    Here are some of my favorite movies that I can think of off the top of my head
    Brazil
    Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
    Adaptation
    My Own Private Idaho
    Princess Mononoke
    City of God

    or you could just rent the entire Twin Peaks or Battlestar Galactica series! That is one of my favorite things to rent when I am going to be home for a long period of time.

  5. jessy says:

    oh no! i’m sorry about Mistoffelees! i hope he gets better fast! one of our kitties, Mr. Tiggs, has had a few UTIs before – same thing – we had to give him meds twice a day and make sure he stayed blockage free with some careful observation. are you feeding him some canned food?! we find that canned food (our other kitties eat dry food) really helps out – keeps them all hydrated – and especially if you add in a few tbsp of water to it. Tiggs like the wellness canned food – but he used to be on the s/d junk from the vet. he hasn’t had a UTI in about a year now – we think it’s the canned food keep’n him clear! i will send happy thoughts Mistoffelees’ way.

    sorry you’re stuck at home – a quiet thanksgiving sounds pretty cool (i hope you have fun). i think i’m envious already. (as we’re hosting thanksgiving for my family! and i’m already stressing! eek!) that’s very cool that you had a mini-thanksgiving! i’m gonna have to see if i can find some broccoli greens – sounds super yummy!

    good movies that i really super loved (although you have probably seen most of them):
    – life aquatic with steve zissou (one of my top 5 movies of all time)
    – city of god (i’m with lazy smurf on this one)
    – amores perros (sad, bur really, REALLY freak’n good!)
    – the machinist
    – cleopatra (i love elizabeth taylor)
    – the professional (so old skool & awesome)
    – no country for old men
    – night watch (it’s a really cool russian action/sci-fi type film. both dan & i really loved it)
    – curb your enthusiasm (such a funny series)
    – weeds (the showtime series. ridiculous, but so good)
    – hot rod (didn’t think it would be any good, but we both laughed our faces off!)
    – the sand pebbles (classic war movie. i really loved it!)
    – hitman (action film, bloody, but good)
    – miller’s crossing (coen brothers)
    – sunshine (creepy sci-fi)
    – 3:10 to yuma (totally bad ass western)
    – frailty (sooooo crazy & kinda creepy, but sooo good!)
    – stranger than fiction (i loved this movie the mostest)
    – donnie darko (i could watch this movie every day)

  6. Everybody is spreading the handmade love!
    I hope poor Mistoffelees feels better soon, poor little kitty. He’s lucky to have you to take care of him though!

  7. allularpunk says:

    hope your kitty feels better soon! and i totally wish i was spending a week at home alone instead of cooking, driving, cooking, driving some more, and then more driving later. holidays aren’t that relaxing when you have to travel all over creation to visit loved ones. i would spend my entire week watching wes anderson movies, in particular the royal tenenbaums which is my favoritest movie ever ever.

    anyway, i’d like to participate in paying it forward. as long as i have a year to send out my little giftie, that’s fine with me. i’ll have much more time to be crafty and creative AFTER christmas is over.

  8. shellyfish says:

    Spreadin’ the love! Excellent!
    I’m so sorry for your petit chat! I hope all is well soon! Sorry you’ll be alone, but you got a great list of films up there! Rushmore is a fun one (just re-watched it so thought of that one). “L’homme est une femme comme les autres” is also great (just re-watched that one, too!).

  9. Diann says:

    I would love to find some broccoli greens like that!

  10. Gail says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your cat! My male cat, Cash, had a urinary blockage last year, which was pretty scary. Apparently it’s fairly common for indoor male cats who eat dry food to develop these – previous to Cash I had only lived with female kitties. We have since cut him off of dry food (much to his dismay!) and now the cats (both of them since they share food dishes) only get wet food mixed with water. They both enjoy their gruel and got kudos from the vet on their most recent visit for their hydration and wet loss (they were a wee bit pudgy when eating the dry food). I hope that you enjoy your Thanksgiving at home!

  11. TadMack says:

    (Psst.
    Are you the one doing your MFA? D. (wishiwerebaking) mentioned that. You’re doing your thesis now? Are you done in June?
    Yes, I’m completely off topic here…)

  12. davimack says:

    (Psst. Where are you applying? Mills College, hopefully? Need somebody who knows somebody? ;))

  13. davimack says:

    Umm… no. Somehow this silly thing thinks that I’ve got a wordpress blog, when it’s a blogspot blog.

  14. Liz² says:

    oh no, your cat… ;__; and oh no your holiday…. ;____;

    at least you get to write papers, that’s always a fun way to spend weekends. I’m not talking from experience, noooooo…..

    anyway, those broccoli greens sound nummy!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a good holiday!  And don’t forget to comment to Pay It Forward with me! […]



Leave a Reply

