Fettuccine No-Fredo

Remember how I said I bought a ton of roastable veggies–and then realized that I’d actually have to roast them?  One of the veggies I had on hand was a fairly large head of cauliflower.  A long time ago, in a galaxy far far away, I used to be a bit more bike punkish than I am now and I’d travel all over for alley cats (illegal drunken fixed gear bicycle races through the streets of NYC or Philly–that kind of bike punkness).  Part of that fixation (pun intended) was browsing through city-specific message boards.  NYC FixedGear was (and still is) one of my faves, if only for the variety and hilariousness of posts.  One of the longer ones is vegan food, and someone threw out the idea of fettucine alfredo a la cauliflower.  Being too lazy to sift through pages and pages of posts on the message board, I vaguely remembered Susan posting a no-fredo recipe and crossed my fingers in hope that it involved cauliflower.  Badabing, it did!

Although I trust Susan’s recipes and I think they’re the bomb, I don’t think I would have believed in it if it weren’t for the bike connection.  The bike community, as a whole, tends to be very pro-vegan or anti-vegan (baconites) and to see vegan and non-vegan bike kids (if you can call 30-something-year-olds “kids”) agreeing on the awesomeness of no-fredo via cauliflower convinced me of its power.  That and the relative ease of boiling cauliflower versus roasting it.  The end result was amazing–the poet says it tastes like real alfredo!  It’s not quite as creamy as I remember alfredo being, but it is pretty darn good.  Due to the size of my cauliflower, I’ve frozen a container of the no-fredo and I’ll pull it out again in a week or two and finish it off.

Fettuccine No-Fredo a la Susan V

1 head cauliflower, chopped into small pieces
4 cups water
4-6 cloves garlic
1-2 tsp. basil
1/2-2 tsp. oregano
pinch cayenne pepper
salt to taste
freshly ground black pepper
pinch nutmeg
1 1/2 tbsp. nutritional yeast

3 cloves garlic, diced
5 kale leaves, de-ribbed and chopped into smaller pieces
3 carrots, peeled and sliced
1 cup mushrooms, cleaned and sliced

1 lb fettuccine

Using the lesser amounts of each seasoning, place all the sauce ingredients except nutritional yeast into a large saucepan and cook, covered, until the cauliflower is very soft, about 15 minutes. When it’s completely tender, use a blender/food processor to puree the cauliflower to a smooth sauce.

Check the seasoning of the sauce, and add more to taste; add the nutritional yeast. Allow the sauce to simmer and thicken while you prepare the mushrooms and pasta.

Bring a pot of water to boil and cook the pasta until done.

Sauté the kale, carrots, mushrooms, and garlic in olive oil until tender.  I steamed the vegetables for a few minutes after I sautéed them in order to get the kale tender.  When finished cooking, set aside.

Combine the pasta, vegetables, and some sauce together in a suace pan and cook for 1-3 minutes until the vegetables and pasta are well coated.  Serve!

Comments
14 Responses to “Fettuccine No-Fredo”
  1. VeggieGirl says:

    GORGEOUS pasta dish!

  2. heather says:

    That sounds great. I don’t like cauliflower normally but that might just make me eat it.

  3. aTxVegn says:

    This recipe has been a longtime favorite of mine. Yours looks heavenly!

  4. jessy says:

    your dish looks awesome! hot damn, that’s so yummy look’n! we’re going to have to give this no-fredo a try super soon! and bike punkness – how bad ass! hells yeah!

  5. shellyfish says:

    I still consider myself a punk kid, and I am 34! Ha!
    Your picture has me feeling all needy, like I need me some of that pasta!

  6. BitterSweet says:

    I used to love this dish pre-veganism, but haven’t tried to make it in years. Now I’m sorely tempted… It sounds so good!

  7. allularpunk says:

    oh yes, this looks good. finally a use for cauliflower (i don’t like it much in it’s whole form). maybe some cornstarch added during the blending process would thicken it up a bit?

  8. mihl says:

    That looks so good! Really beautiful picture. I never used cauliflower in a pasta dish, what a great idea.

  9. Celine says:

    how about I come take the extra plate you had to freeze from your hands instead?

  10. CHOMP says:

    that looks AWESOME. I love that it isnt a bunch of crap used to make it also.
    also, with the right kind of pasta this could be gluten free! thats really exciting!

  11. Alden says:

    This looks amazing!!! I’m having a hard time finding Nutritional Yeast while I’m abroad. I was wondering what I might be able to use as a substitution? Thanks in advance.

  12. MMM, creamy vegetable goodness! I am seriously going to have to make this at some point this week – that really does look amazing and delicious!

  13. It looks amazing, and the picture is beautiful as always! You are now a Fettuccine Punk! 🙂

  14. Mmm–I love healthy comfort food. I’ll be trying this if I can find nutritional yeast at the health food store here.

Leave a Reply

