Fripp Island Recap

Waking up in one’s own bed after an amazing weekend of drinks, hot tubs, great conversations, the roaring surf, and good good good food is never fun.  The weather was perfect (in my opinion): one night rainy, the next day foggy, the next day sunny and the temperature hovered in the mid-sixties during the day (and was deliciously cooler at night).  At one point, the poet and I walked out into the fog on the beach at night and the tide was so far out that we didn’t find the waves before we’d lost all sight of the house and its lights.  Uber creepy.  But great fun!

One of the things I don’t like so much about Fripp Island, SC is that the houses were built on top of the dunes, so development killed the island.  The rate of erosion is scary fast, as you can see by the waves meeting the houses tucked behind a seawall (a jetty is farther to the right of the frame).  Jetties and seawalls actually speed up the rate of erosion, and farther down the beach, where dunes (albeit tiny dunes) exist, the water comes right up and washes them away.  Picturesque, but deadly.

Luckily, I found some life on the beach!  A few sanddollars were brown and kicking, so I scooped them up and put them back in the water, and I also found a little conch that begged me to be tossed back.  Too many horseshoe crabs were washed up though…which is disturbing because they were all adolescents.  But maybe that was just because of the storms.  Who knows.

As for a food wrap-up, I prepared most of the food before I left.  Thankfully, vegan food doesn’t spoil after a few hours in a cooler, so all of it survived.

Vegan Crab Cake with chipotle tartar sauce on a bed of mashed potatoes and brussels sprouts

I toted along split pea soup, vegan crab cake mix, chipotle tartar sauce, avocado burgers, pumpkin cookie dough, biscuit supplies, hot chocolate stuff, pumpkin hummus, and various odds and ends.  The pumpkin hummus was a rip-roarin’ success and I’ll post the recipe soon.

All in all, a wonderful and relaxing trip!  Now it’s back to the grind of paper writing, working, and all the usual trappings.

Comments
7 Responses to “Fripp Island Recap”
  1. What a fun weekend! Your pictures are beautiful, I love the little conch!
    Vegan Crab Cakes, how very appropriate for a weekend by the beach!

  2. Miss Marie says:

    MMMM. Vegan crab cake? I need a recipe for that! 🙂

  3. VeggieGirl says:

    So. freaking. amazing.

  4. shellyfish says:

    Drinks, hot tubs & great conversations!!! I want me some of that! What a beautiful place, and I am all drooly over that crab cake! I need to check it out!

  5. allularpunk says:

    what a wonderful weekend! glad you had a nice time. it looks beautiful there.

  6. mihl says:

    Thank you for sharing those really beautiful pictures with us!

  7. Liz² says:

    aw, gorgeous beach, even if the development is misguided… I like your shell friend.
    And you have the best taste in totable vegan food/how did you make crab cake MIX?? :O

Leave a Reply

