Stuffed Acorn Squash

Pardon the lack of posts with more than a picture as of late.  I’ve been a bit stressed out with deadlines (as always, it seems), but I have been cooking!  I’m working on catching up on everyone’s posts, never fear!

When I went to the Farmer’s Market last time I bought a bunch of wintery veggies to roast: butternut squash, acorn squash, a sugar pumpkin, cauliflower, sweet potatoes, etc.  The part I didn’t think about was how much time roasting requires, and being a student, I’m always a bit crunched on time.  The wait is always worth it though.

When I saw Jessy’s recipe for stuffed acorn squash, I knew I had to try it.  I had bought one acorn squash to try, since I’d never had it before, and I already had kale and cooked quinoa on hand–voila, one stuffed squash!  I was pleasantly surprised with the flavor–I’ve only tried butternut and pumpkin before–and the walnuts added depth of flavor.  Thanks for the idea/recipe Jessy!

Stuffed Acorn Squash

1 acorn squash
1/2 cup cooked quinoa
1/4 cup walnut pieces, toasted
5 kale leaves, well chopped
1 tbsp maple syrup
olive oil

Cut the acorn squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Place it face down in a baking pan filled with 1/4 inch of water. Bake the squash at 350 for about 30-40 minutes (or until tender).  Remove the squash from the oven and allow it to cool.

While the squash is roasting, saute the kale in a olive oil on medium-high heat for 2 minutes. Sprinkle 1 tbsp water into the pan and cover with a lid to steam.  Steam for 2 more minutes (or until tender).  Remove from heat.

Once the squash halves have cooled, scoop out the squash, leaveing about 1/4 inch on the edges.  Place the squash flesh in a mixing bowl and mash with a fork.  Add the kale, walnuts, maple syrup, and quinoa– combine well.

Scoop the stuffing into the empty squash halves and bake for 10 minutes at 350.  Remove from heat, allow to cool for a few minutes, and enjoy!

Comments
7 Responses to “Stuffed Acorn Squash”
  1. VeggieGirl says:

    SCRRRRRRUMPTIOUS!!

    I hear ya on the millions of deadlines – hang in there!!

  2. What a gorgeous stuffed squash!

  3. shellyfish says:

    It’s all about quality, not quantity! Beautiful squash – I love stuffed squash!

  4. Kelly says:

    That looks delicious and like one of those recipes where the end result is even better than the sum of its parts. I need to think about using quinoa as a stuffing ingredient. It looks very pretty and hearty in there.

  5. Rural Vegan says:

    That’s a gorgeous picture, it turned out so pretty! I love winter squash, it’s the only good thing about cold weather!

  6. jessy says:

    oh my gosh – your squash is awesome! i’m glad you enjoyed the recipe, too! thanks for trying it! superhappyface! i love, love, love your idea to use quinoa! i’m gonna have to pick some up next time i’m at the store, as it looks sooooo gooood and i always forget about quinoa!

    thanks for the shout-out, too! 🙂

  7. Sounds delicious. I made this Moroccan-style stuffed acorn squash over the weekend.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/moroccan-style-stuffed-acorn-squashes/

Leave a Reply

