Vegan MoFo #16–Okra Bowl

I am so so so sorry I’ve been MIA this weekend.  I feel dirty for not posting… it’s just that things keep piling up and I can’t get a handle on it.  Major presentation for one of my seminars today?  Yep.  Have I prepared?  Nope.  Major paper due for my other seminar on Wednesday?  Yep.  Have I written it?  Nope.  Etc.  Anyways, enough with my whining.

So I love gumbo.  But sometimes I don’t have enough time to make it.  So here’s my answer to the spicy deliciousness of gumbo in 30 minutes flat.  And actually, I have no idea if it really tastes like gumbo, it’s been a year since I had some, but this is spicy and tomatoey and okraey, so I’m happy.

Play around with whatever you have. Got fresh tomatoes? Better! Kidney beans instead of black beans? Radness. Don’t have the east Asian spices but lots of hot sauce? Works the same. I added some of my homemade hotsauce on top anyway. (P.s. it’s easy to make homemade hotsuace–make a recipe of homemade BBQ sauce, add waaaay too many chipotle peppers, voila, hot sauce!)

1 medium onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, diced
15-20 fresh okras, cleaned and chopped into 1 cm rounds
1 can of beans (I used black beans, but I bet kidney would be better)
16 oz diced canned tomatoes (or 2-3 fresh tomatoes diced)
1 tsp curry powder
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp chili powder
2 tsp garam masala
vegetable oil to cook with

Saute the onion until clear (~7 minutes). Add the garlic, saute 1 more minute. Add the okra, saute for 5 minutes. Add the can of beans and tomatoes and spices. Cook for 5-6 minutes.

Serve over rice!

Comments
10 Responses to “Vegan MoFo #16–Okra Bowl”
  1. VeggieGirl says:

    No worries about being MIA!! Best of luck with the busyness, Jes!!

    Mmm, love the okra bowl.

  2. allularpunk says:

    good luck with your school stuff that you have to do! i know it can be super stressful. love your solution for quickie gumbo! i’m not a huge okra fan, but it looks yummy!

  3. mihl says:

    I love okra so much, so sad that it is so very expensive over here. Your picture is so beautiful, I would love to put my fork right into it!
    Good luch with all your school work!

  4. meg says:

    Oh! I love okra–this looks fabulous.

  5. Okra makes me happy and so does your Gumbo.

  6. rach-ums says:

    Your pic got me excited for Tofurkey day! Yay!

  7. BitterSweet says:

    I’ve actually never had okra… I’m kinda freaked out by the slimy-ness, but I would definitely try it… If only I could find it more easily!

  8. Celine says:

    okra scares me a little. I should be ashamed, I know.

  9. Liz² says:

    spicy and tomatoey = win!
    I’ve never tried okra, I think I should…
    and good luck with schoolwork, I don’t know why EVERYTHING has to happen within these few weeks, including halloween, but ah well… keeps things busy and interesting I guess.

  10. allularpunk says:

    everything looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

