Vegan MoFo #6–Vegan Walking

I love walking.  I love walking so much that I used to have a blog that pretty much only documented the long (5+ mile) walks that I take.  That blog is now merged here, so you can back track through the archives and find a few posts with pictures and musings.

For now, I’m going to leave you with the side of Vegan MoFo you probably won’t find on most sites–nature.  As a vegan I think it’s impossible to not hold some sort of environmental awareness or affection close to your heart.  Yes, animal cruelty and all that jazz, but a vegan lifestyle is one of the most environmentally conscious lifestyles one can choose to have.

In fact, the environmental concern (thank you Wikipedia for defining “environmental vegetarianism” for me…) is why I became a vegetarian, and subsequently a vegan.  Well, that and being too poor to buy meat… It’s not that I don’t care about animal rights issues, it’s just that when I looked at the bigger picture, I realized that just selling my car (which I did in August 2006) wasn’t enough.  If I were  to claim a sustainable lifestyle as my goal, my eating habits would need to match up.

And that’s where walking comes in.  I sold my car in 2006 and have been riding my bike everywhere since then (which isn’t a small feat for Atlanta).  After several major accidents (one involving a SUV plowing into me), general fatigue, and a realization that my body hates me and that I’m doomed for early arthritis, I began to ride the bus more frequently.  But then I discovered the healing benefits of walking.  It takes me about 1 hour to walk just under 5 miles.  During that time I can enjoy beautiful weather, explore the native and horridly foreign plants in the neighborhood, drink coffee, think.  It’s rejuvenating as well as environmentally friendly.  I’d like to think that I get to see a side of Atlanta that very few people see.

So go try walking to the grocery store for MoFo.  Walk to your friend’s house.  Walk for the sake of walking.  And look around at the plants and animals in your neighborhood and thank them for being so damn awesome.

Comments
9 Responses to “Vegan MoFo #6–Vegan Walking”
  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Looove walking; and the gorgeous atmosphere WHEN walking! 🙂

  2. allularpunk says:

    what gorgeous photographs! walking really is glorious. unless you have to be somewhere really fast…speedwalking with my short legs doesn’t really work too well! also, by the way, i made your cashew butter cookies last night and they are awesome! i brought some in to work and they were immediately devoured.

  3. Destiny says:

    Bee-yoo-ti-full pictures! I am feeling tranquil just looking at them.

  4. Vegan_Noodle says:

    Those pics are all from walking around Atlanta?! I had no idea it was so beautiful there. That’s awesome that you are trying to reduce your impact by walking…

  5. shellyfish says:

    I’m with you, sistah! I sold my car in 1999 and lived sans auto until I shacked up with my husband because he has one. I just went everywhere by foot or by bike and while it took me more time and was sometimes a drag in the rain, I remembered what it was like to feel part of the world rather than like a rat in a car-cage. We did get a car when my daughter was born, but if we were still in Paris we wouldn’t have – the transportation is more than fine there.
    I just love your photos!

  6. meg says:

    I walk a whole heap, too; I love it. It completely settles and grounds me. Your blog also settles and grounds me–it’s beautiful! I am going to take some time to look through it today.

  7. BitterSweet says:

    Lovely pictures! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] “As a vegan I think it’s impossible to not hold some sort of environmental awareness or affection close to your heart.  Yes, animal cruelty and all that jazz, but a vegan lifestyle is one of the most environmentally conscious lifestyles one can choose to have.” link […]

  2. […] In case you missed my justification for Vegan MoFo and nature photography, check out my first post on the […]



Leave a Reply

